On Chasing

“Chasing, we’re forever chasing for something that we think that’s out of our grasp, but actually it’s not, we need to start feeling adequate.”


I’m writing on chasing, because I’ve been chasing my dream jobs my entire adulthood (okay fine, I make it sound as if I’m in my 30s but I’m still young and raw 21, turning 22 really). I want to be a music teacher because I’m passionate in both, and when you come across the perfect job, you can’t help but feel anxious – it’s just like chasing somebody you’ve had a crush on when you were in high school, except that this time – it’s job applications (that’s also how you know you’ve hit a plateau, referring to job searches as soulmate searches).

But let’s admit it, who wouldn’t want to work in an environment where it reminds them of nothing but passion, love and joy? It’s pretty much equal to finding a soulmate for life, because once you marry your job, you’re gonna become a part of it, heck not even a part, you’d just become It. Integrating with your job, and sooner or later you’ll start dressing like the part etc etc etc.

Anything that requires your commitment, anything that you want to commit to – let’s admit it, we’ll have to chase it because we think we’re not good enough. Some people say that let the right thing come to you, but if you’re not going to be proactive about whatever you do, how are you going to have the best in life? I’m definitely not a waiter, I hate waiting around, my entire life I spend 99.99999999999999% of it waiting for something to happen until I get angry at myself for wasting precious time where I could’ve tried something better, or devise a better plan every now and then.

Anyways, I really want this music teacher job. I’d be happy surrounding myself with music and young children because their energy is just so pure and bubbly. Mind you-they’re pretty insightful and spiritual in their own way too, so that would be good.

Leave a Reply

